Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The verses I selected for the pages of the Illuminations desk calendar come from a daily devotional from the 19th century entitled Daily Strength for Daily Needs. edited by Mary W. Tileston. My friend and partner in so many projects, Peg Streep, curated a selection of verses from Mrs. Tileston’s book for Bulfinch Press that I illustrated, now (sadly) out of print. Many of the artworks in this daily calendar are excerpted from Peg’s and my version of Daily Strength for Daily Needs: An Illuminated Selection. These sunrise/sunset illuminations are two of those artworks.

I find a great deal of comfort in the idea that the Lord is aware of my comings and goings, and that He watches out for me while I am out in the world. I feel safe in the knowledge that I am cared for, even while distracted and perhaps unaware of His presence in the course of my daily wanderings. We are under a winter storm warning as I write this; it makes me feel secure to think that my “going out and coming in” is regarded with loving attention by Him who made me.

010214

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Do you like what you’re reading here at my blog? Do you want to follow me?
Click on the Follow Blog Via Email link in the left margin and subscribe.
You can also connect with me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, or LinkedIn.
THANKS!

