Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The last time I felt anything like the way I feel now was when my father went missing. Then, I was the daughter of a missing father, a new initiate into a secret society I never wanted to join, possessed of secret knowledge I never wanted to have.
I described it thus in my work-in-progress, Missing Dad:
“I was living and moving from place to place inside a glass box that I carried everywhere I went; everyone could see me, but no one could touch me.”

It’s different this time; my loss is one of (relative) innocence and trust rather than loss of a person (something that haunts my dreams is how easily it could have been just that). When you have seen something that should never have happened, it forces a separation between you and the rest of reality. You are the initiate; you have been let into a secret dark place that few people see, and where few enter voluntarily.

I am the initiate, again. In my current circumstance, I am one of the very few of this clan who has never had something like this happen to someone they care for.

When I lost my father, I had my family; we all experienced the loss, and did so together as a family, as well as individually. I’m not alone this time, either; it helps to be around others I care for, who share my stress, shock, grief and anger. I also have the cognitive dissonance of having my safe, middle-class, somewhat privileged world up-ended, suddenly and viciously.

Now I, too, shudder when I hear the sirens. I used to think they meant that help was on the way; now, my visceral response (my stomach tightens without my thinking about it) is, maybe it isn’t help on the way. Maybe it’s more trouble, and pain, and lies, and grief.
I guess we’ll see. I didn’t expect any of this, but I guess I was being naive. I do read the New York City papers, after all, and I do know what’s going on here. I had hoped it would never be on my doorstep, is all.

______________________________________________

Do you like what you’re reading here at my blog? Do you want to follow me?
Click on the Follow Blog Via Email link in the left margin and subscribe.
You can also connect with me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, or LinkedIn.
THANKS!

