Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s not what you think.Hummingbird floating

I am ready for the lap lanes at the Y. I am very, very happy about that. Dancingly happy, about being ready for laps; hence, the title of this blogpost.

Not only is my breaststroke now solid (and is my new second favorite, after the elementary backstroke), but I am expending less energy per stroke as my kick gets stronger, which means I am not tiring as easily.

Today, I spent over an hour in the water, giving myself only a few seconds rest after touching the wall at the deep end before going back the length of the pool. I would freestyle or breaststroke out to the deep end, backstroke or elementary backstroke to return to the shallow end. I made at least forty trips back and forth today, with very little rest between. The lap lane beckons, enticingly.

I figured out my optimal sequence of strokes for doing laps. When I go on Friday, I will breaststroke out, elementary backstroke in, freestyle out, backstroke in, and then repeat the cycle. I am really looking forward to trying it; there are no traffic jams or people cutting across your lane when you are in the lap lanes. When I am in the open swim area, I must always be aware of who is doing what around me (hard to do when I’m backstroking).  I’ve learned to pay attention to the ripples around me becoming waves and splashes, signifying a nearby swimmer. It’s further complicated by my extreme nearsightedness– I simply cannot see other swimmers until they are very close. (Prescription goggles may be in my future…)

I won’t have to worry about collisions or near misses in the lap lanes. The lap lane swimmers are serious, and good, and focused. I can’t wait to join them…in the slow lane, for now, but who knows where I’ll be by summer’s end? Twelve weeks ago, I hadn’t been in the water for more than thirty-five years. Now, I’m twelve pounds lighter, and doing laps.

Persistence is its own reward.

