This morning I browsed around my Twitter followers, looking at links and reading some interesting articles that I didn’t have time for during the week.

This one, Performing Small Acts of Kindness, really leapt out at me, for a number of reasons. This past Sunday would have been my dad’s 90th birthday; we lost him almost two years ago, so my loss is roughly contemporaneous with the author’s. I, too, have been doing little things to honor my father’s memory. (Strangely, this week, I thought I saw him walking along Northern Boulevard, more than once. So, he’s close, and watching over me.)

It is so easy to be kind to another person. It is so easy to be kind, in just a moment. Just holding the door for the person coming up the walk behind you, smiling at a neighbor rarely seen, saying “Please”, “Thank you”, “You’re welcome” (the last, instead of the de rigueur response of “No problem”). These little things that take a second or two make ripples that travel out beyond you, beyond the recipient of your kind act, and into the world at large.

I’m going to commit to being more mindful of these momentary opportunities. Maybe this is how we change the world, by choosing to be kind, one moment at a time.

