Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

You may remember that last year at around this time I was feverishly working at night (after working days at my then brand-new job at the Y) to finish the pages of my first freelance project in more than ten years.
Well, yesterday, I received my author copies of my Illuminations Wall Calendar. I am SO HAPPY with the way it turned out!

Illuminations 2014 by Claudia Karabaic Sargent, front

Illuminations 2014 by Claudia Karabaic Sargent, front and back

Illuminations 2014 by Claudia Karabaic Sargent, back

This was my first project using InDesign. All the artwork in the calendar is a digital remix of my original watercolor paintings from the gift books I did with my friend and partner, Peg Streep. There’s also a Page-a-Day Desk calendar– as soon as I have the ISBN for that, I will post it. Here’s what the box looks like:

IIluminations 2014 Desk Calendar

IIluminations 2014 Desk Calendar

I taught myself the things I needed to know for the project, using the tutorials on Adobe.com and by trial and error (my favorite way of learning).
Even after all my years of freelancing, it’s still a big thrill to get author copies of something I’ve created. This was my baby from concept, to proposal, to completed project. I thank my friend and agent Melissa Turk for selling this project to Leap Year, and I thank Leap Year for producing it.
I hope you all enjoy it!__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Do you like what you’re reading here at my blog? Do you want to follow me?
Click on the Follow Blog Via Email link in the left margin and subscribe.
You can also connect with me on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, or LinkedIn.
THANKS!

